RCF awards three new Arkwright Scholars

Professor Cathryn Mitchell, trustee of the RCF, with the three scholars, Harry Gibson, Samir Sardana and George Downing, at the awards ceremony in October 2018 at the Institute of Engineering Technology in London

The winners of the RCF scholarships were Harry Gibson, Samir Sardana and George Downing. The awards were presented by RAF Group Captain Tony Keeling, Air Marshal Julian Young and Air Vice Marshal Ross Paterson at an awards ceremony organized by the Smallpeice Trust.

The Arkwright Engineering Scholarships programme was founded in 1991 and aims to identify, inspire and nurture future leaders in engineering. More than 150 organisations such as professional institutions, trade associations and schools support the programme and sponsor about 400 Arkwright Scholarships each year. They provide support and encouragement to students through the critical stages of their A levels, Scottish Advanced Highers or equivalent qualifications.

Professor Cathryn Mitchell, a trustee of the RCF, said:

We are delighted to support these three excellent winners.  They are all immensely capable scholars with a bright future as leaders in their chosen fields. We were particularly impressed by their drive and passion for engineering and their interests in radio systems.